Weird Tales Guest Blogging Links

In celebration of of the first issue of Weird Tales with Ann VanderMeer as fiction editor, Ann invited the contributors to that first issue and subsequent issues to guest blog here in December and January. Below you’ll find all of those links–to wonderful posts from Norman Spinrad, Sarah Monette, Felix Gilman, Cat Rambo, actor/writer Michael Boatman, Paul Tremblay, and a host of new writers. Mark my words: you’ll be hearing a lot more from many of these newbies. They represent the next generation of fantasy, dark fantasy, and horror. One thing I know for sure about Ann as an editor: she has a great eye for new talent. When she was editing The Silver Web, she published some of the first stories by writers who now have major careers, including Daniel Abraham.

The latest Weird Tales should be on newsstands now. Check it out. This isn’t your grandpa’s Weird Tales–it’s something that should appeal both to new readers and those who grew up on WT’s reputation for tradition and quality. Ann’s let me read some of the stuff she’s taken, and I have to say it’s blown me away.

Print genre magazines have taken a lot of heat recently for being behind the times and not keeping up with what the next generation of readers want. But Weird Tales, by adding comics, by being open to a wider range of weird fiction, and in a dozen other ways, including the look-and-feel of the magazine, is adapting to the 21st century. Consider supporting it–right now you can get a subscription at a very reasonable price, which will include the 85th Anniversary Issue, featuring a new Elric novella by Michael Moorcock and my interview with China Mieville (among the best he’s done, I think–lots of fun). That 85th anniversary issue also includes a REMARKABLE debut: “Creature” by Ramsey Shehadeh. So you really can’t go wrong.

You’ll find all of the links below the cut.

NOTE: If you visited and the links didn’t work–they’re now fixed.

Jeff

Dec 8, 2007 – Cat Rambo on Early Influences

Dec 9, 2007 – Dec 9, 2007 – Nir Yaniv on Writing Speculative Fiction in Israel

Dec 10, 2007 – Adam Corbin Fusco on Salad Dreams

Dec 11, 2007 – Robert Davies on The Winged Man

Wed, Dec 12, 2007 – John Kirk on Geliophobia

Thurs, Dec 13, 2007 – Chiles Samaneigo on Guest Blogging

Fri, Dec 14, 2007 – Michael Boatman on Lady Hollywood

Sat, Dec 15, 2007 – Erik Amundsen on Where We Get Fat

Sun, Dec 16, 2007 – Mark Budman on When Do You Stop?

Mon, Dec 17, 2007 – Norman Spinrad on What’s Really Out There

Tues, Dec 18, 2007 – Karen Heuler on Going Outside the Fence

Wed, Dec 19, 2007 – Caleb Wilson on Delighting in the Weird

Thurs, Dec 20, 2007 – Rory Steves on Radiation Angels

Fri, Dec 21, 2007 – Calvin Mills on The Weird Element

Sat, Dec 22, 2007 – Chiles Samaneigo on Being Asked

Sun, Dec 23, 2007 – Matthew Pridham on The Artful Silence

Mon. Dec 24, 2007 – Hunter Eden on My Three Bogeymen

Wed, Dec 26, 2007 – Ramsey Shehadeh on Thoughting

Thur, Dec 27, 2007 – Scott Andrews on Why I Write Fantasy

Fri, Dec 28, 2007 – Peter Atwood on My Wife is not a Spy

Sat, Dec 29, 2007 – Jonathan Wood on The Egomaniacal Act of Writing

Sun, Dec 30, 2007 – Alistair Rennie on Archiving the Weird

Mon, Dec 31, 2007 – Mike Allen on Fascinations with the Disturbing

Wed, Jan 2, 2008 – Paul Tremblay on Books Worth Seeking Out

Sun, Jan 6, 2007 – Mark Budman on The Shape of Innovation

Mon, Jan 7, 2008 – Michael Boatman on UFO’s are Real, Dammit!

Tues. Jan 8, 2008 – Sarah Monette on Catastrophe

Wed, Jan 9, 2008 – chiles samaniego on Being Left Behind

Sun, Jan 13, 2008 – Ben Thomas on Shakespeare’s Ghosts and Lovecraft’s Gods

Sun, Jan 13, 2008 – Felix Gilman on Literary Belatedness

Mon, Jan 14, 2008 – Christopher Furst on Being an Orangutan

Comments

  1. Jess Nevins says

    I am so very pleased that you added Ken Hite. I think the man is brilliant and I’m really pleased he’s getting a wider audience for his work.

  2. says

    Jess — we think so too. I enjoyed Ken’s online “Tour de Lovecraft” a lot, and we agreed that a reimagining of the concept would be a good fit for Weird Tales.

  3. says

    Oh Hell Yes!

    I liked this issue so much, I resubscribed. And I’ll second the call for more Ken Hite in Weird Tales. Actually a gaming column written by Ken Hite in WT would be outstanding.

  4. says

    I get a 404 error on the Paul Tremblay article, btw.

    So what is the difference between now and what they were doing before – apart from publishing more frequently?

    What is Gothic Fantasy/Phantasmagoria exactly? Does that mean nothing like Cthulhu or Conan or Clark Ashton Smith?

  5. says

    The editorial outlook is different, a bit. Weird Tales back in the day meant original weird fiction. It seems to have become too linked to Lovecraft derivatives. You’ll see a lot more new writers. But you’ll still see basically “weird” fiction, just in a wider range. At least, I think that’s what Ann’s going for.
    JV

  6. says

    Ok, thanks.

    I’d be fairly sure that phantasmagoria is a word that is not in a lot of people’s vocab, for one. Less so for fiction mag readers, though, presumably.